Cykada play Flying Lotus, Mndsgn & more + Hunrosa at Soup Kitchen, Manchester

  • Thursday | 29.11.18
  • 7.30pm
  • Band on the Wall, Manchester
  • £9 ADVANCE / £1...

London-based fusion outfit Cykada comprises six of the capital’s most exciting underground jazz, rock and electronic music talents. Their saxophonist James Mollison plays with the mighty Ezra Collective, as well as alongside trumpeter Axel Kaner-Lidstrom in the visionary octet, Where Pathways Meet. Tim Doyle, aka. drummer extraordinaire and Nubya Garcia collaborator Chiminyo, occupies the drum stool, with Mimika Orchestra bassist Jamie Benzies, psychedelic rock guitarist Javi Pérez and Sawa Manga/Myriad Forest electronics wizard Tilé Gigichi-Lipere, completing the exceptional line-up.

For their first club shows outside of London, the up-and-coming group will perform The Beats of L.A., a show which includes live renditions of material by producers Flying Lotus, MNDSGN and more, alongside original material. It went down a storm before a packed Jazz Café earlier this year and is certain to do so again, as the band pick up a head of steam with their debut album, slated for release on Astigmatic records. Fans of Melt Yourself Down, Josef Leimberg and The Heliocentrics will no doubt appreciate their dynamic sound, electronic edge and cosmic vision.

James Mollison (Ezra Collective, Where Pathways Meet) – Saxophone
Axel Kaner-Lidstrom (Where Pathways Meet) – Trumpet
Tim Doyle aka. Chiminyo (Maisha, Don Kipper) – Drums
Jamie Benzies (Don Kipper, Myriad Forest, Mimika Orchestra) – Bass
Javi Perez (Undergrooveland) – Guitar
Tile Gigichi-Lipere (Sawa Manga, Myriad Forest) – Keys/Electronics

Support comes from Hunrosa. Sam Vicary A.K.A ‘Hunrosa’ (to dream) is an electronic music producer based in Manchester, UK. He is principally a bassist and currently a member of ‘The Cinematic Orchestra’ (Ninja Tune), ‘Paper Tiger’ (Wah Wah 45’s) and ‘The Dominic J Marshall Trio’ (Challenge Records). As well as also performing with artists such as Manu Delago, Imogen Heap, Matthew Halsall, Anil Sebastian and Stuart Macallum.

This is a standing show. A Band on the Wall fundraiser.