• Monday | 06.07.15
  • 7.30pm
  • Band on the Wall, Manchester
  • £14.50 Adva...

Fresh off the release of their eponymous debut album, we are delighted to present the all-star jazz/groove quartet Forq.

Made up of Rudder founder Henry Hey on keyboards (Jeff “Tain” Watts, Joe Locke, Chris Botti, Bill Bruford, Seamus Blake, David Bowie, Empire of the Sun), Snarky Puppy founder and Grammy Award-winner Michael League on bass (Kirk Franklin, Wayne Krantz/Ari Hoenig Quartet, Lalah Hathaway), Chris McQueen on guitar (Snarky Puppy, Foe Destroyer, Myron Butler & Levi, Eric Moore & Resonate) and Jason “JT” Thomas on drums (Roy Hargrove’s RH Factor, Marcus Miller, D’Angelo), Forq is an all-star ensemble of sorts – but with the spirit and cohesiveness of a garage band.

Though based in New York City, the group retains a subtle Texas accent, where Michael League and Jason Thomas established a fast friendship and musical rapport through almost two years of weekly gigs in legendary keyboardist Bernard Wright’s trio. Upon moving to New York, League teamed up with Henry Hey to form a group rooted deep in that distinctly southern groove, but with both the fire and inventiveness that NYC is known for. Hey and Rogers contribute all but one of the tracks on Forq’s debut album, a mixture of fierce, playful, and soulful material. It’s the Texas-meets-Manhattan cocktail that has a created a sound rich in both musical intelligence and undeniable style.

Henry Hey – Keyboards

Chris McQueen – Guitar

Michael League – Bass

Jason “JT Thomas – Drums