Espen Eriksen Trio with Andy Sheppard

  • Sunday | 25.11.18
  • 7.30pm
  • Band on the Wall, Manchester
  • EARLBIRD £14 / A...

The masters of melody from Norway team up with British jazz star Andy Sheppard for a brand new collaboration.

In May 2018 Espen Eriksen Trio and Andy Sheppard released their first record together on the Norwegian label Rune Grammofon. The record “Perfectly Unhappy”, featuring eight new songs by Eriksen specially written for the project, has been lauded by critics:-

”However it came about, the symbiosis between the saxophonist and the trio is truly remarkable. Sheppard sounds as if he has been playing with them for a decade or more…The success of the album is down to all four of them and demonstrates what fine musicians they are.” – 4.5/5 All About Jazz

”Some people say that sadness is the most beautiful emotion; after 45 minutes with Eriksen, Sheppard and co I’m inclined to agree.” – 4/5 BBC Music Magazine

”This music is simply too beautiful, so one needs to hear and feel it to understand. It’s the way it touches and comforts your mind, more than simply what it sounds like.” – Hi Fi Critic

The story started in May 2016 when the Espen Eriksen Trio embarked on their first full scale UK tour, and saxophonist Andy Sheppard joined the group for two concerts in London. From the first notes it was clear that this was a perfect match. The interplay was seamless and it was as if the melodies of pianist Espen Eriksen were specially written for Andy Sheppard. A new collaboration was born and after touring together in Norway and South Korea the album was recorded in October 2017.

Through touring and recording the trio and Sheppard have together created a new common idiom, which will speak to followers of Eriksen’s and Sheppard’s work alike. Their fresh approach to the music will both please and surprise the listener, as it weaves its path through enchanting melodies and lyrical improvisation, sitting perfectly within Eriksen’s and Sheppard’s long-lasting tradition.


Andy Sheppard – tenor saxophone
Espen Eriksen – piano and compositions
Lars Tormod Jenset – double bass
Andreas Bye – drums

10+. Under 16s must be accompanied by a responsible adult.