New Sense Brass

Formed in Manchester, England, in 2009, New Sense Brass are a 7-piece band who combine classical and popular musical techniques and styles to deliver a unique sound. As well as original music, they perform imaginative re-workings of well known pieces, treating jazz standards, pop songs and classical works with equal respectful disregard. In 2010 the band were the first ensemble / artist from outside of North America to be invited to perform at Canada’s Prairie Brass Festival, prompting a tour of the surrounding area, and an invitation to return the following year. June, 2011, saw the release of New Sense Brass’s debut album Between The Lines, and in summer 2012, the band were back on tour again – this time in The Republic of Ireland.

The members of New Sense Brass come from a broad spectrum of different musical backgrounds, all having enjoyed successful careers as professional players, composers, and / or arrangers. Dr Richard Rock, the group’s alto horn player and founder, has had works commissioned and performed by brass and wind bands in Norway and Japan, compositions played at the European Brass Band Championships and featured on BBC Radio’s Listen To The Bands programme, as well as being a prolific arranger whose catalogue includes the hugely successful Acid Brass volume 2. The New Sense Brass frontline also features several well respected session musicians, including Gavin Hibberd (trumpet), Chris Stevens (trumpet), Joe Stevenson (trombone), Simon Reynolds (sax), and Charlotte Atack (sax). Between them, these guys have performed live and on television to audiences all over the world, including supporting Westlife on a live tour, at the Royal Variety Show, and with the Phil Collins Band. Gaz Hughes, the drummer, is constantly sought after by many of Britain’s finest jazz musicians, regularly appearing at prestigious British venues like Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club.


“Providing audiences with an infectious blend of musical talent, charisma and unique instrumentation, New Sense combine a mash up of musical genres that suit all tastes, refreshing your palette and leaving you ready for more!… Just wanted to thank everyone in New Sense for a fantastic concert, your musicianship and professionalism both on and offstage contributed to making the brass band festival such a huge sucess. We wish you every sucess in the future and Come back soon!” Prairie Brass Band Festival Committee 2011


  • The Floral Dance – trad.
  • Thriller – Michael Jackson
  • Georgia – Hoagey Carmichael
  • We’ve Only Just Begun – The Carpenters
  • I Feel Good – James Brown
  • Bulletproof – La Roux
  • The Chicken – Jaco Pastorius
  • Lean On Me – Bill Withers
  • St. Thomas – Sonny Rollins
  • Joy To The World – Three Dog Night
  • War – Hynotic Brass
  • Cantina (from Star Wars) – John Williams
  • Ironside theme – Quincy Jones
  • Karma Police – Radiohead
  • Killing In The Name of – Rage Against The Machine
  • Enter Sandman – Metallica
  • Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen