Collocutor is the 7-piece brainchild of saxophonist Tamar Osborn. The project grew from her wish to simply write the music that wanted to be written, rather than focus on a particular audience or context. As such the compositions draw inspiration from the many genres encountered over the course of a varied career, ranging from jazz, afrobeat, Indian classical and Ethiopian roots to polyphonic choral music and minimalism – the link being primarily modal music with a transportive effect.

Collocutor are:

Tamar Osborn – baritone & soprano sax, alto flute

Simon Finch – trumpet & flugelhorn

Mike Lesirge – tenor sax & soprano sax (Josephine Davies on album ‘Instead’)

Suman Joshi – bass

Marco Piccioni – guitar

Magnus Mehta – percussion (Afla Sackey on album ‘Instead’)

Maurizio Ravalico – percussion